Clare Shore's Cool Spring Meditations, four miniatures for solo guitar

Date of completion: November, 1987; Approximate Duration: 10'

Program Notes

Written for guitarist Michael Rosensky, Cool Spring Meditations was inspired by the meditative
surroundings of the Holy Cross Monastery on the Shenandoah River near Berryville,Virginia. The
movement structure suggests the celebration of a portion of the Divine Office of Roman Catholic
liturgy. Matins, the first of the canonical hours, is usually held between midnight and dawn; Lauds
was originally celebrated at sunrise; Vespers, at sunset; and Compline just before retiring. No attempt
was made in this work to follow the traditional musical treatment of the Roman rite; rather, each
movement is evocative of the pastoral setting at various times of the day.

Cool Spring Meditations was premiered on the AMERICAN COMPOSERS:
series at Strathmore Hall Arts
, Bethesda, Maryland, on October 7, 1988, by guitarist David Perry


Published by Watchfyr Music
Call 561-252-0987

Listen to excerpts from Cool Spring Meditations

Biography Reviews Works Recordings Listening Room Publisher Info Links Main Page

design by Watchfyr Productions

Copyright 2023 by Clare Shore - All Rights Reserved